



Trina Innes

Carl Amrhein

Lorne Babiuk Phyllis Clark Don Hickey



9.

Summary

Monday, March 21, 2011 Council Chamber, University Hall 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

OPENING SESSION Presenter/Proposer Approval of the Agenda 1. Indira Samarasekera 2. Approval of the Minutes of November 29, 2010 (to be distributed) Indira Samarasekera 3. Comments from the President (no documents) Indira Samarasekera **ACTION ITEMS** New Members of GFC Indira 4. [Note: A motion to appoint may be proposed only by a statutory member of Samarasekera GFC. A motion to receive may be proposed by any member of GFC.] Motion: To Appoint New Members Motion: To Receive New Members Chris Cheeseman 5. Human Resource Policy Suite (in UAPPOL) Joyce Hiller Motion I: To Recommend to the Board of Governors Motion II: To Approve Carl Amrhein 6. Death of a Member of the University Community - University Response **Policy** Kathleen Brough Motion: To Recommend to the Board of Governors 7. Academic Plan - Dare to Deliver 2011-2015 Carl Amrhein Lorne Babiuk Motion: To Approve **DISCUSSION ITEMS** 8. Carl Amrhein Sustainability Initiatives at the University of Alberta (no documents) Dru Marshall **Bart Becker** Susan Barker

University of Alberta's Comprehensive Institutional Plan (CIP) - Executive

10. Question Period

Indira Samarasekera

[Question Period Policy provides that Question Period is one half-hour in length and comprises both oral and written questions. Question Period can be extended if there is a motion to do so (General Faculties Council Terms of Reference).]

No questions to date.

[At the close of Question Period, questions will be invited on the following Information Items (Executive Committee Minutes; Reports of the Board of Governors to GFC; Nominating Committee/Replenishment Committee Reports.]

INFORMATION ITEMS

11. GFC Executive Committee Minutes of November 8, 2010, January 10, 2011, and February 7, 2011

Carl Amrhein

(Minutes for GFC Executive Committee meetings are available online at: http://www.governance.ualberta.ca/en/GeneralFacultiesCouncil/ExecutiveCommittee.aspx)

12. Report of the Board of Governors of December 10, 2010 and February 11, 2011

Louis Hugo Francescutti

13. E-Mail Reports of the GFC Nominating Committee (November 25, 2010 and February 8, 2011)

Duane Szafron

14. E-Mail Report of the GFC Replenishment Committee (no reports to date)

Garry Bodnar

15. Information Items Forwarded to GFC Members Between Meetings

Indira Samarasekera

➤ CAUT/CFS Position Paper on Copyright Tariffs (E-Mailed to Members on December 1, 2010)

16. Reports

Indira Samarasekera

If a GFC member has a question about a report, or feels that the report should be discussed by GFC, the GFC member should notify the Secretary to GFC, in writing, two business days or more before GFC meets so that the Committee Chair (or relevant expert) can be invited to attend. [GFC Terms of Reference Section 4 (Procedures)]

University of Alberta Museums Annual Report to General Faculties Council (GFC) for the Period July 1, 2009 – June 30, 2010

CLOSING SESSION

17. Next meeting date: Monday, May 30, 2011

Indira Samarasekera Documentation was before members unless otherwise noted.

Notes for members: This is the 377th meeting of General Faculties Council.

Meeting REGRETS to: Garry Bodnar, Director of GFC Services and Secretary to GFC, 780-492-4733,

garry.bodnar@ualberta.ca

Prepared by: Garry Bodnar, Director of GFC Services and Secretary to GFC

Posted On Line for Members: March 11, 2011

University Governance: http://www.uofaweb.ualberta.ca/governance/

Presenters/Proposers:

Carl Amrhein Provost and Vice-President (Academic) and Chair, GFC Executive

Committee

Lorne Babiuk Vice-President (Research)

Susan Barker Academic Coordinator, Office of Sustainability, and Chair, Department of

Secondary Education

Bart Becker Associate Vice-President (Facilities and Operations)

Garry Bodnar Secretary to GFC and Coordinator, GFC Replenishment Committee

Kathleen Brough Portfolio Initiatives Manager, Office of the Provost and Vice-President

(Academic)

Chris Cheeseman Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Human Resource Services)

Phyllis Clark Vice-President (Finance and Administration)

Louis Hugo Francescutti Academic Staff Representative on the Board of Governors

Don Hickey Vice-President (Facilities and Operations)

Joyce Hiller Senior Administrator, Human Resource Services

Trina Innes Director, Office of Sustainability

Dru Marshall Deputy Provost

Indira Samarasekera President and Chair, General Faculties Council

Duane Szafron Chair, GFC Nominating Committee